Worship Unfettered

GIrl WorshipMany many years ago, I had just begun serving as the worship pastor for a wonderful church.  Now it was important that I win over a number of skeptics, particularly those who preferred a more traditional style of worship.  So when I was asked to speak and lead worship at a “North of 50” event, I knew I had to put my best foot forward.

I had prepared what I felt was a theologically-grounded and engaging sermon, and stacked the worship set that morning with my favorite hymns.  But just to give me an additional edge, I invited my wife to bring our two incredibly sweet and cuddly four-year-old twin daughters.  I mean, the cutesy factor couldn’t hurt, right?

By the time we arrived, the fellowship hall was already packing out.  Now, to call this a “North of 50” event was a bit generous.  Most of those in attendance were retirees, traditional and proper and Baptist.  True to form, my daughters began making the rounds, smiling and waving and basically creating delight everywhere they went.  I went about the business of “pastoring,” shaking hands and making sure everyone felt welcome and included.  But the truth of the matter was, I was the new guy, not them.  After some preliminaries, I was invited to step forward and lead them in worship.

As I stated, my worship set was stacked with hymns that morning, in an effort to connect with this demographic slice of my new congregation.  I sat at the piano, read and underscored a Psalm as a Call To Worship, and invited them to sing with me.

Now it’s my tendency in worship to close my eyes when I can.  It helps me focus vertically, which is important because a worship leader has a lot on his mind during worship.  A worship leader is thinking about playing the song, singing the lyrics, leading the congregation, directing the band, cueing the tech people, and paying attention to the senior pastor—all while focusing on God.  (A worship leader’s mind is a pretty cluttered place.)  So though I close my eyes, I am constantly peeking to make sure everything—and everyone—is doing okay.

Things were going extremely well into the second song.  People seemed engaged and were singing robustly, and I was genuinely enjoying these moments before the Lord.  What I didn’t know was that one of my daughters had slipped away from my wife and had made her way on to the stage.  As I opened my eyes, I suddenly noticed her in front of my grand piano, hands in the air, spring dress twirling, feet swirling in lazy circles.  Dancing.  Elated, her twin sister quickly joined her.  And suddenly, I had two little ballerinas on the stage.

Now when I said these people were Baptist, I mean it in every sense of the word.  Dancing is akin to gambling, smoking, drinking, shooting heroin, playing billiards.  So I panicked.  As a cold sweat broke on the back of my neck, I glanced at my wife, who could only offer me a wide-eyed shrug of the shoulders.  I thought about stopping the song and grabbing them, but that would only punctuate the situation.  “I am so in trouble,” I thought to myself.  Resigned to my fate, I kept singing.

In the midst of my panic, I spied the crowd.  By this time, most everyone had stopped singing.  But what I saw nearly stopped me in my tracks.  Instead of stern disapproval, I saw a room full of warm, wide smiles.  To my surprise, every person there had become captivated by this pair of four-year-olds.  The freedom and abandonment they had in expressing their simple joy and delight before God was, in a word, intoxicating.

“Then sing my soul, my Savior God to Thee, how great Thou art, how great Thou art…,” I continued to sing.

And as they twirled and jumped and swept their tiny little arms about, I began to realize that I wasn’t leading worship.  My daughters were.

Rachel and Paige taught me a few things that morning.  Like, worship may not be so much about me and my supposedly weighty concerns.  Profound Truth can be found in a simple, unfettered smile.  And God takes great delight in the purely offered  worship of His children.

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  Matthew 18:3 TNIV

2 thoughts on “Worship Unfettered

  1. I love this story.
    You know, children will believe Jesus for anything, and respond to Him genuinely and instinctively until an adult teaches them not to. Coming child-like is often the response that fully engages our hearts, and teaches us the wonder of His presence and the joy of living in it.
    “And a child shall lead them…”

Leave a Reply

