Artist Profile: Cate Morris

One of the cool side benefits of being in arts ministry is that one gets to meet some amazing people.  The talented, the anointed, the offbeat, the heartfelt, the deeply thoughtful, the highly creative—I’ve been blessed to meet so many of these people through the years.  And blessed also to be able to call so many of these people my friends.

Cate Morris is one of those creatives that fits all of these categories.  A worship leader, songwriter, recording artist, and speaker, I met Cate during my second missions trip to Italy, and we’ve been close friends ever since.  Living in Alaska with husband, four children, and assorted pets (I think one of them is a moose), Cate teaches and leads worship for churches and conferences nationally and internationally.  In particular, she is a passionate and engaging worship leader with a heart for women, international missions, and the spiritual growth of children, as well as a love for the church through worship.

Cate is now releasing her second album, Red Sky, and I’m very excited about it.  A follow up to her previous album, From Here, the album takes it’s name from the sailor’s saying, “Red sky at morning, sailor take warning.  Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.” (Cate’s husband is an Alaskan commercial fisherman.  Yeah, like one of those “Deadliest Catch” guys.)  Her songs reflect on the journey through the storms of life, “a prayer for help and a promise of comfort.”  I think you’ll love it.

I’ve had the tremendous opportunity to produce this album for her, and it features some other musical partners in crime, including Kent Peterson and Steven Randal.

I highly recommend you purchase both of her CDs at cdbaby.com, and you can download her songs there as well.  I also have a handful of CDs that I can get to you directly, if you ask.  I also recommend her thoughtful and inspiring blog, Learning to be Present with an Everpresent God.

[PS: Interested in having me produce an album for you?  Let’s talk.]

Leave a Reply

