Faith, Art, and Haiti

Haiti.  It is hard to imagine. Tucked in the somewhat artificial security of middle-class American suburbia, I found my mind continually drifting back to this tragedy, trying to make sense of it.  The poverty of the area, the magnitude of the earthquake, the depth and breadth of the hardship and grief.  Because even though I could offer some theological explanations for the existence of evil and adversity in the world, there is still the reality of the personal suffering and pain.

If you think about it, the large-magnitude earthquake that struck Haiti could hit any of us.  Especially for those of us living in northern California.  So I live in this weird juxtaposition: I sip my latte and pray for Haiti.

Honestly, it paralyzed my blogging for a time.  I felt that anything I had to say in terms of faith and the arts paled in comparison to the larger issues of life and death, tragedy and circumstance, God’s will and the brevity of human life.

There are bright spots.  Worldwide, nations have responded to the crisis.  Individually, men and women have demonstrated great generosity and acts of service.  Internally, more people are—at least for a moment—considering the deeper things of life, and counting their blessings.

My wife, Debbie, and I have talked about this.  Faith should lead to action somehow, if the faith is real.  So we have supported the relief efforts, as many of you have.  But I also want my art to count for something too.  Because if my art is an expression of my faith, then I want my art to have some tangible expression of walking my faith.  So here’s what we came up with.

For the next month, if you purchase any of my CDs, we’ll give 100% of the money to the relief efforts. Just go to the CDBaby link below:

Buy some Music.  Give to Haiti.

If you order any of my four albums (either in Compact Disc or MP3 download), we’ll give all of the money to the relief efforts.  We’ll open this up for the next month and probably longer.  If you haven’t yet gotten any of my music, now is the best time to do so.  (You can also listen to it first, so you’ll know what you’re getting!)

We are giving through Compassion International, and we recommend this amazing organization to you as well. If you don’t want to buy my music, or if you simply want to give, then please hit this link:

Give to Compassion.  Give to Haiti.

Either way, we strongly urge you to give.  Like I said, faith should lead to action somehow, if the faith is real.

“What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him?  Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food.  If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?  In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” James 2:14-16 TNIV

Leave a Reply

