Christmas Rerun: Living in the Mystery

rud_02.jpgNo one really likes reruns on TV. Except that there are some often-played movies and shows that, for deeply rooted reasons, I cannot resist. This is entirely true of the Christmas season, where, for many years, I looked forward to the annual airing of “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.” I remember as a child being transfixed to our black and white TV as Burl Ives crooned his monolog, Yukon Cornelius battled the Abominable Snow Monster, Hermey announced his future intentions in orthodontia, and Rudolph issued his puppy-love proclamation, “I’m cude! She thinks I’m cude!”

Maybe it was the scene where Rudolph is excommunicated from playing reindeer games, or maybe it is their lonely visit to the Island of Misfit Toys (this would make a great band name, incidentally). I guess as a young boy I could relate to Rudolph’s loneliness, his misunderstood pathos, and his desire to be accepted. There was something mysteriously affirming and enchantingly Christmasy in that low budget stop action show that still speaks to me today.

My adulthood has not tamed the boyhood magic of Christmas—it has only changed my view of it. Not only do we own the digitally remastered DVD version of Rudolph, but I see it now through the eyes of my children, and of the child that I remember myself to be.

So in the spirit of the season, I’d like to leave you with a gift: A Rerun. This is the blog I wrote last Christmas. I think it still speaks to the state of my heart at this time of year. I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

